Skip to content


Past Southern Headache Society Presidents, Lifetime Achievement winners and Scholarship recipients

Southern Headache Society Past Presidents

maizels morris 2024

Morris Maizels, MD

Years President: 2011-2016

Morris Maizels MD is a family physician and headache specialist, who has been involved in headache care and research since 1994. His study – Intranasal Lidocaine for Treatment of Migraine (JAMA 1996) – laid the foundation for the recent interest in sphenopalatine ganglion blocks for migraine. Following that publication, he established a group education model…

loftus brian 2024

Brian Loftus, MD

Years President: 2016-2020

Dr. Brian Loftus’s journey to medicine was the road less travelled. His initial encounter with the medical field occurred during a summer between his freshman and sophomore years in college, when he worked with a surgeon at Ben Taub General Hospital. Despite this early exposure, he initially decided against a career in medicine. Instead, he…

brianplatodo cropped

Brian Plato, DO

Years President: 2020-2022

Dr. Brian Plato is the medical director of headache medicine with the Norton Neuroscience Institute in Louisville, KY.  Dr. Plato received his medical degree from the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine. He completed both his internship and residency at the University of Louisville School of Medicine in neurology, where he also served as chief resident…


2023 Education Scholarship Award Winners

ghazal ahmad md

Ghazal Ahmad, MD

PGY3 Neurology
Medical College of Georgia

bryan canlas do

Bryan Canlas, DO

PGY3 Neurology
St Luke’s University Health

delora denney

Delora Denney

University of Mississippi SOM

paul gong md

Paul Gong, MD

Headache Fellow
Cincinatti Children’s

robert goodrich md

Robert Goodrich, MD

PGY5 Child Neurology
Wake Forest

sehaj madhok md

Sehaj Madhok, MD

PGY5 Child Neurology
Columbia University

victoria phoumthipphavong md

Victoria Phoumthipphavong, MD

PGY4 Neurology
Virginia Commonwealth

christopher tan

Christopher Tan

Virginia Commonwealth

shirin sadeghpour md

Shirin Sadeghpour, MD

PGY3 Neurology
Baylor Scott & White

shivani vaidya md

Shivani Vaidya, MD

PGY4 Neurology
MedStar Georgetown

Southern Headache Society Scholarship Awardees

2019 Scholarship Award Winners:

Lindsay Frerichs, Headache Medicine Fellow

Daniel Lapid (PGY2) Child Neurology Resident

Arathi Nandyala (PGY1) Neurology Resident

Rachel Penn (PGY2) Child Neurology Resident

Yash Shah (PGY4) Child Neurology Resident

Scroll To Top