Skip to content

Become A Member

Membership grants you access to Physician downloads & Annual meeting presentations.

Join Our Discussion

Join our forum open to healthcare professionals dedicated to treating headache.

September 9-11, 2022

Annual Meeting

Asheville, NC.
Omni Grove Park Inn.

Our Mission

The mission of the Southern Headache Society is to improve the quality of life of patients with headaches and facial pain by promoting education to professionals. As a regional organization, we seek to facilitate communication among professionals in the South interested in headache, as well as to promote awareness of regional expertise.

Diversity Statement

The Southern Headache Society is an organization whose membership and leadership are open to all people interested in promoting the mission of improving the lives of patients with headache disease. We welcome your feedback on this topic.

The Southern Headache Society (SHS) is a non-profit organization of health care professionals dedicated to the treatment of headache, facial pain, and related disorders.

The Southern Headache Society was formed in 2011 by a group of physicians in the South interested in promoting the practice of Headache Medicine. The SHS welcomes all professionals interested in the field of Headache Medicine, including physicians, nurse practitioners and physician assistants, dentists, psychologists, and allied health practitioners with an advanced degree.

Our active members must live in the following states: Florida, Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana, Texas, Oklahoma, Kansas, Missouri, Tennessee, South Carolina, North Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia, Maryland, Kentucky, Arkansas or the District of Washington, DC.

Board of Directors

Alan Finkel, MD

Ex-Officio Member

Carolina Headache Institute

Chapel Hill, NC

Brian Loftus, MD

Immediate Past President

Bellaire Neurology

Bellaire (Houston), TX

Brian Plato, DO


Norton Neuroscience Institute

Louisville, KY

Carrie Dougherty, MD


MedStar Georgetown University

Chevy Chase, MD

Chaouki Khoury, MD

Electronic Media Director

Panda Neurology

Atlanta, GA

Christopher Oakley, MD

Program Chair 2022

Johns Hopkins Medicine

Baltimore, MD

D. Michael Ready, MD

Program Chair 2021

Scott & White

Temple, TX

Deborah Friedman, MD

Ex-Officio Member

UT Southwestern

Dallas, TX

Donald Penzien, PhD

Member At Large

Wake Forest

Winston-Salem, NC

Lauren Strauss, DO


Wake Forest

Winston-Salem, NC

Morris Maizels, MD

Founding President, Ex-Officio Member

Providence Medical Group

Everett, WA

Randy Evans, MD

Ex-Officio Member

General Neurology & Headache Specialist

Houston, TX

Rebecca Wells, MD, MPH

Vice President

Wake Forest

Winston-Salem, NC

Sara Sacco, MD

Education Chair

Carolinas Headache Clinic

Matthews, NC

Susan Beaird, DNP, CPNP

Member at Large

Vanderbilt Childrens Hospital Neurology

Nashville, TN

Scroll To Top